18.10.2017

News Overview

WorldSkills – an emotional rollercoaster

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

On the third day of competition, the SwissSkills team is experiencing a whole range of emotions. While some need to come to terms with tasks gone wrong, others are completing their work to perfection. And then there are those who have already finished their challenge to great fanfare. But a few team members will still have to give their all on the last day and keep at it until the last minute – borne on a wave of unique team spirit.

«That was a strange day,» says Riet Bulfoni, an automotive mechatronics engineer. He failed his morning challenge, only finding one error in two hours. He felt devastated. «But I have so much support here on site, including from the SwissSkills team. They built up my confidence again, so I was able to really do my best in the afternoon.» Now everything is going according to plan: «Actually things are just perfect. I finished my tasks on time and am happy with the afternoon’s results.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

At noon, Silvio Tönz was the first to finish his CNC milling challenge, and Patrick Meier joined him a little later in the CNC turning competition. Both were cheered on by a large contingent of Swiss fans ringing bells and waving flags. Looking back over the past few days, Patrick Meier says that the match was quite exhausting, because he had to work under great time pressure: «But it’s a great feeling to see so many fans out there supporting us.»

Web designer Emil von Wattenwyl has likewise completed his competition marathon, but is still in full competition mode: «It was mega-brutal, the pressure was really enormous – I’m still shaking and my body is pumped full of adrenaline.» Apart from a few hours of sleep, he has been working at full tilt for 30 to 40 hours. The pressure in his head was extreme: «But at the moment I just feel like, wow, amazing, I’m so happy I took part and I will remember these days for a long time to come.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Construction metalworker Michael Graf by contrast still faces some trying times ahead. The start for his skill was delayed, but that made him only «a bit nervous», he says. «It’s tougher than we expected and the days will be longer, because we need to make our 22-hour project in three days,» he explains, adding nonchalantly: «It can’t be helped, so I just have to take things as they come.»

18.10.2017

News Übersicht

WorldSkills 2017 – Wechselbad der Gefühle

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Das SwissSkills Team erlebt am dritten Wettkampftag die ganze Bandbreite möglicher Emotionen. Während die einen missratene Aufgaben wegstecken müssen, läuft es für andere gut bis perfekt. Und da sind jene, die mit grosser Fanbeteiligung ihren Wettkampf bereits beenden können. Einige aber werden am letzten Tag noch einmal alles geben und bis zur letzten Minute dranbleiben müssen, der einzigartige Teamgeist hilft ihnen dabei.

«Das war ein komischer Tag», erzählt Automobilmechatroniker Riet Bulfoni, die Aufgabe am Morgen habe er verhauen, in zwei Stunden nur einen Fehler gefunden. Er sei am Boden und deprimiert gewesen. «Aber ich habe viel Unterstützung hier vor Ort, auch vom SwissSkills Team. Sie haben mich wiederaufgebaut und so konnte ich am Nachmittag wieder voll zuschlagen.» So läuft ihm denn auch alles nach Plan, «eigentlich perfekt, ich war rechtzeitig fertig und bin mit dem Nachmittag zufrieden».

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

CNC-Fräser Silvio Tönz beendet am Mittag schon als Erster seinen Wettkampf, Patrick Meier, CNC Dreher, etwas später. Beide werden von einer grossen Schweizer Fangemeinde mit Glockengeläut und Fahnen gefeiert. Die Wettkampftage seien sehr anstrengend gewesen, der Zeitdruck sehr gross, blickt Patrick Meier auf die vergangenen Tage zurück: «Aber es ist ein schönes Gefühl, dass so viele Fans da sind, um einen zu unterstützen.»

Auch Webdesigner Emil von Wattenwyl ist fertig mit seinem Wettkampfmarathon, ist aber noch voll im Wettkampfmodus: «Es war megabrutal, wirklich, der Druck war enorm, ich zittere immer noch und mein Körper ist noch voller Adrenalin.» Abgesehen von ein paar Stunden Schlaf sei er nun 30–40 Stunden voll an der Arbeit gewesen. Der Druck im Kopf sei extrem gewesen: «Im Moment ist das Gefühl ‚hueregeil’, freue mich grade sehr, dass ich mitgemacht habe und werde sicher lange daran zurückdenken.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Davon ist Metallbauer Michael Graf noch etwas entfernt. In seinem Beruf verzögerte sich der Start, was ihn jedoch nur «ein wenig nervös» gemacht habe, wie er sagt. «Das wird strenger als gedacht und gibt längere Arbeitstage, weil wir unser 22-Stunden-Projekt in drei Tagen machen müssen», erklärt er und ergänzt recht abgebrüht: «Das kann man nicht ändern, ich nehme es wie es kommt.»