19.10.2017

News Overview

WorldSkills 2017 – finished, relieved and excited

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

The final gong sounds every half hour, ending the last tasks for the different skills. All the built-up tension is slowly dissolving, giving way for an even greater feeling of relief among the competitors. With a large retinue of fans, the young Swiss professionals celebrate the end of four days performing at the highest level. Now the anxious waiting begins to find out how successful they were.

Plumbing and heating technician Marcel Wyss almost doesn’t notice that the competition is over: «I wasn’t even aware of it, I just worked until the last second.» This has been a tremendous experience for him, and when he looks back on the past few days, he’s happy to have had the privilege to be a part of it. Not until he turns around does he see the familiar faces of those who have cheered him on to the last. His parents accompanied him to Abu Dhabi, along with his boss and half the workforce at his company.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Cook Evelyne Tanner likewise didn’t realise at first what a huge fan club she had behind her. «I had to concentrate on getting done and I only realized when I sent off my finished dish that so many people were here.» After four days of focused efforts, she and all the other team members are finally ready to receive hugs and congratulations. Many of the competitors and their visitors have tears in their eyes now that it’s all over.

Pascal Mathis, an IT network systems administrator, is likewise «definitely relieved» to have handed in his final task. He was so focused on what he was doing that the four days of competition just flew by. He has a «good feeling,» he says in retrospect. «They were very exciting challenges and I had a lot of fun. Now I’m looking forward to seeing the results.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

But for that he’ll have to wait until the closing ceremony this evening. First, he and his colleagues will be received at the traditional Swiss evening at the Ritz Carlton hotel, where the visitors have been staying. With their cow bell, the whole team will parade past hundreds of Swiss fans, greeted with thunderous applause. Also on hand will be Reto Wyss, President of the SwissSkills Foundation, who accompanied the Swiss delegation for the first time. «You all did an extremely good job representing Swiss vocational education and training, putting it in an exceptionally good light.»

19.10.2017

News Übersicht

WorldSkills 2017 – fertig, erleichtert und gespannt

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Im Halbstundentakt beendet der Schlussgong die letzten Aufgaben in den verschiedenen Berufen. Die grosse Anspannung löst sich und weicht einer noch grösseren Erleichterung bei den Wettkämpferinnen und Wettkämpfern. Mit einem grossen Fantross feiern die jungen Schweizer Berufsleute das Ende einer viertätigen Höchstleistung. Ab sofort beginnt das bange Warten, wie erfolgreich sie gearbeitet haben.

Sanitär- und Heizungsinstallateur Marcel Wyss bekommt fast nicht mit, dass der Wettkampf vorbei ist: «Ich habe es gar nicht bemerkt, einfach bis zur letzten Sekunde gearbeitet.» Es sei eine riesengrosse Sache für ihn und schön, dass er hier habe mitmachen dürfen, blickt er auf das Erlebte zurück. Erst als er sich umdreht sieht er die bekannten Gesichter, die ihn bis zuletzt angefeuert haben. Seine Eltern haben ihn nach Abu Dhabi begleitet und sein Chef mit der halben Belegschaft seines Betriebs.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Auch Köchin Evelyne Tanner hat den riesigen Fanclub hinter sich erst gar nicht wahrgenommen. «Ich musste schauen, dass ich fertig werde und habe erst beim Schicken meines Gerichts realisiert, dass so viele Leute hier sind.» Nach vier Tagen grösster Anspannung können sie und alle anderen des Teams endlich Gratulationen und Umarmungen entgegennehmen. Nicht wenigen – ob Wettkämpferinnen und Wettkämpfer oder Mitgereisten – schiessen in diesen Momenten die Tränen in die Augen.

Pascal Mathis, IT Netzwerksysteme Administration, ist ebenfalls «definitiv erleichtert», als er seine letzte Aufgabe abgibt. Die vier Wettkampftage seien wie im Flug vergangen, so völlig fokussiert sei er gewesen. Er hat ein «recht gutes Gefühl», wie er rückblickend sagt und: «Es waren sehr spannende Challenges und hat mir megaviel Spass gemacht. Jetzt bin ich gespannt, wie das Resultat aussieht.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Darauf muss er aber noch bis zur Schlussfeier heute Abend warten. Vorher werden er und seine Kolleginnen und Kollegen im (Besucher-)Hotel Ritz Carlton zum traditionellen Schweizer Abend empfangen. Mit ihrer Kuhglocke zieht das gesamte Team an hunderten von Schweizer Fans vorbei und wird mit tosendem Applaus begrüsst. Mit dabei auch Reto Wyss, Präsident der Stiftung SwissSkills, der die Schweizer Delegation zum ersten Mal begleitet. «Ihr habt die Berufsbildung der Schweiz extrem gut vertreten und in ein enorm gutes Licht gestellt.»