23.10.2017

News Overview

WorldSkills 2017 – 1,001 fans welcome the SwissSkills team

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Almost like a fairy tale from The Thousand and One Nights, the first occupational championships to be held on the Arabian Peninsula draw to a close – for Switzerland the most successful WorldSkills competition of all the time. Around 1,000 fans and one Federal Council member receive the SwissSkills team at the Messe Zürich exhibition centre for a rousing welcome event. With appreciative congratulations, ringing bells and frenetic applause, the brilliant success of the Swiss Delegation is celebrated once more with gusto.

Despite VIP service at the airport, the Swiss delegation almost arrives late to its own grand reception in Hall 7 of Messe Zürich. And the reception is truly overwhelming. Around 1,000 relatives, friends, colleagues and fans have turned out to welcome the SwissSkills team along with the experts and delegation management. An imposing backdrop for eye and ear, with banners, a sea of red-and-white flags and pennants, and the deafening tolling of cowbells.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Reto Wyss, president of the SwissSkills Foundation, greets the fans and expresses his great pride and admiration for the outstanding performance of the SwissSkills team. He stresses again the vital contribution made to this success by the support provided by the experts. Just like the competitors, the experts demonstrated incredible commitment and made the high scores possible – for which they deserve special thanks.

National Council member Gerhard Pfister is on hand to convey to the young professionals «Switzerland’s recognition for what you have achieved», because they have certainly earned the respect of the political sphere. The SwissSkills team even receives congratulations from the Federal Council.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Federal Councillor Johann Schneider-Ammann, head of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research, insists on personally congratulating the young people on their smashing success. He is tremendously proud of the team, he says: «This triumph is the reward for a great deal of effort – the ideal shot of motivation for the future.»

The presentation of all the members of the SwissSkills team that follows soon turns into a marathon of cheers and applause from the around 1,000 fans.

23.10.2017

News Übersicht

WorldSkills 2017 – 1001 Fans empfangen das SwissSkills Team

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Fast wie ein Märchen aus 1001 Nacht enden die ersten Berufs-Weltmeisterschaften auf der arabischen Halbinsel, aus Schweizer Sicht die erfolgreichste WorldSkills-Teilnahme aller Zeiten. Rund 1000 Fans und 1 Bundesrat empfangen das SwissSkills Team in der Messe Zürich zu einem furiosen Welcome Event. Mit anerkennenden Gratulationen, viel Glockenlärm und frenetischem Applaus wird der grandiose Erfolg der Schweizer Delegation noch einmal tüchtig gefeiert.

Fast wäre die Schweizer Delegation – trotz VIP-Service am Flughafen – zu spät zu ihrem eigenen grossen Empfang in der Halle 7 der Messe Zürich eingetroffen. Und dieser Empfang ist schlicht überwältigend. Rund 1000 Angehörige, Freunde, Arbeitskollegen und Fans erwarten das SwissSkills Team, Expertinnen und Experten und die Delegationsleitung. Eine imposante Kulisse fürs Auge wie fürs Ohr: Transparente, ein rot-weisses Fahnen- und Fähnchenmeer, ohrenbetäubendes Kuhglockengeläut.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Reto Wyss, Stiftungsratspräsident von SwissSkills begrüsst die Fangemeinde und spricht dem SwissSkills Team seinen grossen Stolz und seine Bewunderung für die herausragende Leistung aus. Daneben betont er erneut, wie wichtig die Unterstützung der Expertinnen und Experten für ein derart erfolgreiches Abschneiden ist. Wie die Wettkämpferinnen und Wettkämpfer selber hätten sich auch diese mit unglaublichem Engagement eingesetzt und diesen Erfolg möglich gemacht – dafür gebühre ihnen ein besonderer Dank.

Auch Nationalrat Gerhard Pfister spricht den jungen Berufsleuten die «Anerkennung der Schweiz für das, was Sie geleistet haben» aus, denn sie hätten es verdient, dass die Politik ihnen die Ehre erweise. Selbst bundesrätliche Glückwünsche darf das SwissSkills Team entgegennehmen.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann, Vorsteher des Departements für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung WBF lässt es sich nicht nehmen, den jungen Berufsleuten persönlich zu ihrem grossen Erfolg zu gratulieren. Er sei wahnsinnig stolz auf diese Equipe, sagt er: «Dieser Erfolg ist eine Entschädigung für sehr viel Aufwand – eine Motivationsspritze in die Zukunft, wie sie besser nicht sein könnte.»

Die folgende Vorstellung aller Mitglieder des SwissSkills Teams geriet zum Jubel- und Applausmarathon bei den rund 1000 Fans.