13.10.2017

News Overview

WorldSkills 2017 – High-ranking visitor at embassy reception

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

After a few days gathering their energies in the pre-camp in Al Ain, the SwissSkills team has now arrived in Abu Dhabi, location of the upcoming WorldSkills competitions. Simon Furrer, a plant electrician, is impressed by the dimensions of the team hotel Aloft, directly adjacent to the competition grounds. “Everything is so gigantic, so huge. I didn’t realize the size when we landed on Sunday, because it was already dark and we continued on immediately to the pre-camp.” In the afternoon, the team travels to a Bedouin town located some 60 kilometres to the southeast, in the Al Khatim Desert. The 1,300 or so competitors meet up there for the first time and are treated to a programme of Arabian entertainment.

But first, there’s time to marvel at the imposing hotel, check in to the rooms, and look forward to a special highlight in the evening: the exclusive reception at the Swiss Embassy.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

“Greeting so many highly qualified people from Switzerland here all at once is a rare opportunity,” says Maya Tissafi, Swiss Ambassador in Abu Dhabi. The Swiss Residence is illuminated to magical effect. A promenade of sparkling lights leads to the open gardens, a beautiful pool under a starry sky, and splendid cuisine in a gracious ambiance. For one special evening, the Swiss team can enjoy the Arabian dream before the tough competition begins.

Switzerland’s political scene is also paying its respects to the SwissSkills team this evening. The highest-ranking Swiss politician, National Council President Jürg Stahl, has come to the reception to deliver a message: “We have a right to be proud of our vocational education and training system, thanks to you and your extraordinary achievements.” He referred to the team members as ambassadors not only for their professions but for the whole country. “Be brave and go your own way, because then anything is possible, and not only in the competitions.” Along with his National Council colleague Christa Markwalder, he didn’t hesitate to combine an official mission in Kuwait with a detour to Abu Dhabi to offer words of encouragement to the Swiss competitors.

13.10.2017

Vue d'ensemble des News

WorldSkills 2017 – Un visiteur de marque à l’ambassade

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Après quelques jours de repos au pre-camp, dans la ville-oasis d’Al-Ain, notre équipe SwissSkills se retrouve dans la capitale, fin prête pour les championnats. Simon Furrer, installateur-électricien, est impressionné par les dimensions de l’hôtel Aloft où loge la délégation, juste à côté du lieu des épreuves. «Tout est si gigantesque, si fastueux. Dimanche, je ne m’en étais pas rendu compte, il faisait déjà sombre lorsque nous avons atterri pour nous rendre tout de suite au pre-camp.» L’après-midi, le team plonge dans le désert Al-Khatim pour rejoindre un village de bédouins à 60 km au sud-est. Là, dans le cadre d’un programme typiquement arabe préparé à leur attention, les 1300 participants des Mondiaux se rencontrent pour la première fois.

L’hôtel est pour le moins impressionnant. Une fois l’enregistrement fait et les affaires déposées dans les chambres, un événement tout particulier s’annonce: une réception exclusive à l’ambassade de Suisse!

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

«C’est rare d’accueillir chez soi autant de jeunes gens si doués», déclare Maya Tissafi, ambassadrice de Suisse à Abou Dhabi, qui a convié toute la délégation suisse à une réception de haut standing. La résidence officielle brille de tous ses feux, non loin des lieux du concours. Une allée majestueuse traversant le jardin, une piscine luisant sous le ciel étoilé, des délices gustatifs dans une ambiance féerique.

Les instances suprêmes de la Confédération étaient également présentes: le plus haut magistrat du pays, le président du Conseil national Jürg Stahl, était là pour saluer notre délégation. «Nous pouvons être fiers de notre système de formation – grâce à vous et grâce à votre travail!» Nos candidats sont des ambassadeurs, non seulement de leur métier mais aussi de leur pays. «Soyez courageux, tracez votre chemin; tout s’offrira à vous, et pas seulement la médaille du concours!» Avec sa collègue la conseillère nationale Christa Markwalder, il n’a pas hésité à combiner une visite d’État au Koweït avec un crochet à Abou Dhabi, afin de souhaiter bon courage et bonne chance aux candidates et candidats suisses.