16.10.2017

News Overview

WorldSkills 2017 – now it’s full speed ahead

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

The 44th WorldSkills, the first vocational world championships in the Arab world, are off to a dazzling start. At an opening ceremony featuring lyrical modern choreography, Simon Bartley, President of WorldSkills International, greeted some 10,000 guests at the Abu Dhabi arena and welcomed around 1,300 competitors to the «four toughest days of your life till now».

During those four days, Manuel Allenspach, who develops IT software solutions for business, has to program a software application for a fictitious airline: «I had enough time to complete the tasks and always finished on time.» That doesn’t go without saying, because some of the challenges are designed to be almost impossible to tackle in the given time. Bricklayer Kevin Hofer is also confident about his achievements thus far: «The day was quite exhausting, but I’m satisfied with the results.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Irina Tuor, a health-care specialist, is nervous before her first heat: «But once I get started, I’ll be fine.» The support all round her will surely help: «We all started together this morning with our team shout – that gives us strength.»

Cabinetmaker Sven Bürki is not as nervous here as he was at the Swiss championships: «Here I already knew the challenge and was able to discuss the modifications with my expert, Tobias Hugentobler.»

For fashion designer Flurina Rüesch, it’s going to be a long day, because sometimes she has to sit by and wait until everything is ready. «Then we just have to focus on ourselves and not let it bother us.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Benjamin Räber, a landscape gardener, seems very confident after his first day, even though he and his team partner Nils Bucher were not allowed to see the plans for their challenge until yesterday, and then only briefly. But that doesn’t appear to be a problem for them: «We’ll just go full speed ahead, do our best, use all our skills – and then we’ll see.»

16.10.2017

Vue d'ensemble des News

WorldSkills 2017 – se donner à fond!

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Les 44es WorldSkills – premiers championnats du monde des métiers en terre arabe – peuvent commencer. Avec une cérémonie d’ouverture éblouissante et féerique, à la fois poétique et moderne, Simon Bartley, président de WorldSkills International, accueille près de 10’000 personnes présentes dans la du Arena à Abou Dhabi. Il souhaite la bienvenue à plus de 1’300 candidates et candidats qui subiront «les journées les plus dures de leur vie jusqu’ici».

Manuel Allenspach (IT solutions pour entreprises) a quatre jours pour développer une application logicielle pour une compagnie aérienne fictive. «J’avais assez de temps pour les différentes étapes et j’ai toujours terminé à temps. » Et ce n’est pas chose évidente, lorsque l’on sait que certaines épreuves sont conçues de telle manière qu’elles ne puissent être achevées à temps. Le maçon Kevin Hofer est lui aussi en bonne voie: «La journée a été éprouvante, mais je suis satisfait du résultat.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Irina Tuor, assistante en soins et santé communautaire, était très nerveuse avant sa première épreuve. «Une fois lancée, ça va mieux.» Avoir le soutien de son entourage est fondamental: «Nous commençons la journée en poussant notre cri d’équipe, et cela nous donne de la force!»

Sven Bürki (ébéniste) se dit même moins nerveux que lors des championnats nationaux de Suisse: «Ici je connaissais le thème de l’épreuve à l’avance et j’ai pu discuter les options avec mon expert Tobias Hugentobler.»

Pour la créatrice de vêtements Flurina Rüesch, cela a été une longue journée, car elle devait parfois patienter avant que tout soit en place. «Il faut alors faire le vide autour de soi et ne pas se laisser déconcentrer.»

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Quant au jardinier paysagiste Benjamin Räber, il semble très serein après sa première journée, bien que lui et son coéquipier Nils Bucher n’aient pu consulter les plans de leur épreuve qu’hier pour la première fois, très brièvement. Cela ne semble pas être un gros problème: «Y aller à fond, donner le meilleur de soi-même, mettre en pratique tout notre savoir-faire – pour le reste, on improvisera!»