20.10.2017

News Overview

WorldSkills 2017 – ein historischer Erfolg!

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Hardly anyone had dared hope for such outstanding success. With 11 gold, 6 silver and 3 bronze medals, the SwissSkills team scored higher than ever before, taking 2nd place in the national ranking and achieving the best score by far among the European countries. Added to this achievement are 13 diplomas and 3 certificates – the best result ever for a Swiss team.

«I am just speechless», says Tatjana Caviezel: «We trained so hard to bring the gold medals home, and now we really did it.» The 21-year-old from St. Gallen is the new world champion in the restaurant service trade. Right after the big closing ceremony, she stands before the radio microphone and speaks with a shaky voice and moist eyes. «I had almost lost faith that I could do it after a few days that didn’t go as planned and not feeling very well», she says, looking back, but adds:

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

«But I still pulled it off, telling myself ‘I want to see this through to the end’. And now I actually made it.» She received vital support from her entire family, who accompanied her to Abu Dhabi. And especially from her expert, Martin Erlacher, to whom she is «extremely grateful»: «Without him I couldn’t have done it.» And now it’s time for everyone to celebrate, because they’ve really earned it these past days.

Beat Schranz (21), an electrician from Adelboden in the Bernese Oberland, was equally surprised by his brilliant results. The first day did not go well for him – although he did finish his work, he had to cut some corners. He says, visibly moved, that he can still hardly believe that he won the gold medal. It was an «incredible» experience for him to take the stage alongside the Swiss flag knowing that he is among the three best in the world in his trade. But then he was called up on stage again soon after to be awarded another gold medal, namely as «Best of Nation» with the highest score of the Swiss team.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Switzerland has indeed never had such a striking success to celebrate, with 11 gold, 6 silver and 3 bronze medals. Not to mention 13 diplomas for excellence and three certificates. This means that over 90% of the SwissSkills team members earned at least a diploma.

With 51 trades in all, the Swiss team therefore attained the highest level on the winners’ rostrum in no less than one-fifth of them. The medal score in addition puts our young professionals at the top of the national ranking. In 2nd place overall, the SwissSkills team remains unchallenged as the best nation in Europe by far.

20.10.2017

Vue d'ensemble des News

WorldSkills 2017 – un succès historique

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Avec un palmarès de 11 médailles d'or, 6 médailles d'argent et 3 médailles de bronze, la SwissSkills team n'avait encore jamais remporté autant de médailles et se hisse ainsi à la deuxième marche du podium dans le classement par pays, faisant d'elle de loin la meilleure nation européenne. A quoi il ne faut pas manquer d'ajouter les 13 diplômes et 3 certificats décrochés – un résultat dans son ensemble encore inégalé par les équipes suisses précédentes.

«Cela me laisse tout simplement sans voix», déclare Tatjana Caviezel: «Nous sommes tellement entraînés dans le but de ramener une médaille d'or à la maison, et c'est maintenant chose faite!» La jeune femme de 21 ans originaire de Saint-Gall vient tout juste de remporter le titre de championne du monde en service de restauration.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Juste à la fin de la grande cérémonie de clôture, elle se retrouve devant le micro, voix tremblante et larme à l'œil, pour déclarer: «Je n'y croyais plus, je n'avais plus trop le moral et je n'allais physiquement pas très bien», explique-t-elle après coup mais en ajoutant: «Je me suis malgré tout accrochée et me suis dit que j'irai jusqu'au bout. Et voilà que j'y suis arrivée!»

Beat Schranz (21), installateur-électricien à Adelboden, a lui aussi été surpris de sa victoire qu'il n'attendait plus. En effet, le premier jour ne s'était pas bien déroulé pour lui et, même s'il était parvenu à terminer, il avait dû faire des concessions sur quelques points. Ses paroles montrent d'ailleurs qu'il n'arrive d'ailleurs toujours pas à réaliser qu'il vient de remporter une médaille d'or. Quand, à sa plus grande surprise, il fut ensuite à nouveau appelé sur la scène pour recevoir une autre médaille d'or: celle récompensant la «Best of Nation» pour le plus grand nombre de points obtenu par l'équipe suisse.

Debrunner Acifer WorldSkills Competitions 2017 SwissSkills Team

Il n'y avait en effet encore jamais eu autant d'aussi bonnes raisons de faire la fête que ces 11 médailles d'or, 6 médailles d'argent et 3 médailles de bronze. Sans oublier bien sûr les 13 diplômes et 3 certificats qui ont honoré des performances d'excellence. Ainsi, plus de 90% des membres de la SwissSkills team ont décroché au moins un diplôme.

Sur les 51 métiers représentés au total, l'équipe suisse est ainsi montée sur la plus haute marche du podium pas moins d'une fois sur cinq. Dans le classement par pays et selon la moyenne des points obtenus par médaille, nos jeunes professionnels tous réunis sont également les grands vainqueurs. Parvenue au deuxième rang des nations, la SwissSkills team affiche donc une position de leader incontesté et se positionne de loin comme étant la meilleure nation d'Europe.