History

Growing together: on the ball since 1755

The Debrunner Koenig Group is a company that is continually learning and evolving –and it’s been that way right from the very start. Founded in 1755 as the Hochreutinersche Eisenwarenhandlung in St. Gallen and renamed Debrunner & Cie in 1911, the company that merged to become Debrunner Koenig in 1988 has been part of the globally operating Klöckner & Co SE since 1992.

The foundation stone

The Hochreutinersche Eisenwarenhandlung (hardware store) was established in St. Gallen in 1755. The Hochreutiner family ran the business for four generations. In 1862, with no direct successor lined up, Theodor Scherrer took the helm. He was followed in 1885 by Jean Debrunner, and the company expanded and took a new name in 1911: Debrunner & Cie.

Succession and continuity
In 1930 the former limited partnership became a joint stock company under the leadership of Henri Debrunner and Max Scherrer, both following in their fathers’ footsteps. Behind them lay sixteen years of war and an economic crisis that put an abrupt end to the boom years. The steel and metal goods trade recovered very slowly, only to be put to the test again with the outbreak of the Second World War.

A new market leader
Debrunner & Cie AG defied the harsh headwinds and was able to put itself at the service of a flourishing market after the war. Over the next five decades, the Debrunner Group saw substantial growth, opening up subsidiaries all across Switzerland. With the acquisition of the Acifer Group with its nine subsidiaries, the Debrunner Acifer Group was founded in 1996: a new market leader in the construction steel and rolled products trade, with a large-scale distribution network and a comprehensive product range. In 1997 the company grew again, incorporating the Davum Group, and in 1999 the IBAG Zentralschweiz. There followed in 2002 the acquisition of the home automation division of Sabag Tavelli. 2004 brought with the takeover of Spahr AG further growth and continuity.

“Growing Together” – the 250th anniversary
In 2005 Debrunner Acifer celebrated its 250th anniversary. “Growing together” was the leitmotif for this special year. This theme reflects not only the exciting development of the erstwhile St. Gallen hardware store into a leading trading company – but also the challenges of tomorrow: our goal to serve our partners in commerce, industry and construction even better with comprehensive services and a seamless supply network. And in the process to transform our team of over 1,700 dedicated employees into an even more cohesive unit. Above all, though, we would like to add another chapter full of highlights to our long success story – with your help.

Stabilisation and further development
With the acquisitions of Metall Service Menziken (2005), Gauss AG in Zurich (2007), Lehner & Tonossi SA in Sierre (2007) and Bläsi AG in Bern (2010), the company further expanded its market leadership in all regions.

We look back with gratitude – and ahead with confidence!

Histoire

Progresser ensemble: sur la brèche depuis 1755

Aujourd’hui comme hier, le groupe Debrunner Koenig est une entreprise qui apprend et se développe. Fondée en 1755, à St-Gall, la quincaillerie Hochreutiner, rebaptisée Debrunner & Cie en 1911, a rejoint le groupe Debrunner Koenig en 1988 et le groupe international Klöckner & Co SE en 1992.

La première pierre

En 1755, est fondée la quincaillerie Hochreutiner. L’entreprise reste durant quatre générations aux mains de la famille Hochreutiner. En 1862, après que l’ordre direct de succession ait été interrompu, Theodor Scherrer reprend la direction de la société. Jean Debrunner lui succède en 1885 – l’entreprise progresse et reçoit en 1911 un nouveau nom: Debrunner & Cie.

Succession et continuité

En 1930, la société en commandite devient société anonyme sous la direction de Henri Debrunner et Max Scherrer qui, tous deux, marchent sur les traces de leurs pères. Ils ont derrière eux 16 années de guerre et de crises qui ont stoppé net une conjoncture prospère. Le commerce de l’acier et de la quincaillerie ne se remet que lentement, pour être soumis à une nouvelle épreuve avec le déclenchement de la seconde guerre mondiale.

Un nouveau leader sur le marché

Debrunner & Cie surmonte les difficultés et après la guerre, parvient à s’imposer sur un marché à nouveau florissant. Durant près de cinq décennies, le groupe Debrunner va créer des succursales dans tout le pays. Grâce à l’acquisition du groupe Acifer et de ses neuf succursales, le groupe Debrunner Acifer voit le jour en 1996 : un nouveau leader dans le commerce de l’acier de construction et des produits de laminage, fort d’un réseau de distribution national et d’un assortiment comptant aujourd’hui plus de 100´000 articles. L’entreprise poursuit son expansion avec, en 1997, l’acquisition du groupe Davum et en 1999, celle d’IBAG Suisse Centrale. En 2002, le groupe reprend les activités installations domestiques du bâtiment de Sabag Tavelli et en 2004, Spahr AG assure de nouveau croissance et continuité.

«progresser ensemble» – 250ème anniversaire

En 2005, Debrunner Acifer a fêté son 250ème anniversaire. «Progresser ensemble» a été le leitmotiv de cette année particulière. Ce leitmotiv ne reflète pas seulement le développement passionnant de la quincaillerie st-galloise en une grande société commerciale. Il évoque également les défis de demain : se rapprocher, grâce à des prestations et un réseau complets, de nos partenaires du commerce, de l’industrie et de la construction ; en tant que société employant plus de 1200 collaborateurs hautement motivés, renforcer encore notre unité, et surtout, écrire avec vous un nouveau chapitre de notre histoire, riche en moments passionnants.

Stabilisation et poursuite du développement

La reprise des entreprises Metall Service Menziken (2005), Gauss AG à Zürich (2007), Lehner & Tonossi SA à Sierre (2007) et Bläsi à Berne (2010) nous a permis de renforcer notre leadership dans toutes les régions.

Nous regardons le passé avec reconnaissance – et l’avenir avec confiance !